Very low framerate when creating DCP (SOLVED)

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
KrisSP

Very low framerate when creating DCP (SOLVED)

Post by KrisSP »

Hey guys,

Sorry if this question has been asked before, I couldn't find anything by search.

I'm pretty new with DCP-O-Matic, but I seem to be getting suspiciously low fps when I'm creating a DCP.

I have a Blu-Ray I have ripped to a .mkv, which I now try to convert to a DCP. I have a HP z600 with dual X5650 CPUs and 12GB RAM, and hyper-threading turned on. I've set DCP-O-Matic to use (all) 24 threads.

I'm seeing only 3–4 fps, putting a 2h film at around 13h to convert. When I look at the activity monitor, CPU activity is (naturally) constantly hovering around 100%, but the RAM load is only 25–30%.

Is there any obvious settings I'm missing, or another typical error to check for?

I'm not sure exactly what kind of fps I should expect, but I guess it sure should be higher than this …
Last edited by KrisSP on Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carsten

Re: Very low framerate when creating DCP

Post by Carsten »

I have seen long conversion times when an MKV contained certain audio codecs. You could try to benchmark e.g. with the Sintel 5.1 trailer.

For a dual 5650, see here:

http://dcpomatic.com/benchmarks/input.php?id=1

(and that is for a very old version 1.77, which significant speed improvements since DOM 2.7x)

Are you sure there is nothing else consuming CPU time on that machine?

What resolution is your footage, and I assume you are doing 2k DCPs?

- Carsten
KrisSP

Post by KrisSP »

Thanks Carsten,

Yes, doing a benchmark is good. Is this the correct link to the trailer used in the benchmark?
https://durian.blender.org/download/

(Btw, I see the x5650 benchmark is done with 32 threads – shouldn't it be max 24?)

There is nothing else running on the computer while converting. And I'm doing a 2K DCP.