DaVinci Resolve Export Tutorial Available?

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
pbzvariety

DaVinci Resolve Export Tutorial Available?

Post by pbzvariety »

Hi folks,

I'm an experienced editor, newbie colorist, and newbie DCP needer...

I've done all the research I could online, and I'd like to give DCP-o-matic a try. While I find troubleshooting aritcles and am trying to piece an understanding together, I'm wondering if anyone has a simple tutorial about how to export needed materials from DaVinci Resolve that would lead to the best possible quality of creating a DCP in DCP-o-matic... and hopefully it says how to set up DCPomatic from there, but there are other tutorials for that, I know.

btw, I shot ProRes HQ, cut on Final Cut Pro 7 in that format, exported in that format, graded in DaVinci Resolve in that format (in Rec 709 color space), and cropped it to 1920x817 (2.35:1) and am ready to go.

Thank you!
Carsten

Re: DaVinci Resolve Export Tutorial Available?

Post by Carsten »

I don't know any specific tutorial, there may be some reports on some blogs and such.

This forum has a few stories.
Here is a very typical example: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=829&hilit=Resolve

One major issue seems to be that many people think an export to XYZ TIFF or J2C is the only/best way to maintain quality - unfortunately, that is not necessarily the case. DPX also may be problematic, because there are different interpretations of certain parameters.

The idea to use J2C or XYZ-TIFF is based on the assumption that Resolve does a better job at color/gamma/format conversion than a 'cheap/free' tool like DCP-o-matic (now, the basic version of Resolve is free as well... ;) )