Feature Film - Croping and sound sync

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Huiuuu

Feature Film - Croping and sound sync

Post by Huiuuu »

First of all , thank you for this wonderful program and active from what it seems board.
My first post here just to save some time from experimenting my self.

I am in Hurry to make a Dcp for a feature film . It needs to be at 24fps 1.85 flat with 5.1 .
I have a master file @ 25fps at 16:9 with 1.85 flat letterbox.
If i am right , to make the Dcp at 1.85 flat , i will need to crop 21 from top and 21 from bottom , and scale to: set to No stretch. ( I am worrying if the movie gets stretched ) it seems to work right...
To make the DCP at 24fps , i will not mess with the content but i have to set the DCP settings to 24fps , am i right?

Now with the sound. I have from my sound engineer the 6 files of the 6 channels as discreet mono channels. After i import them i set the channels in the Content-audio tab. The sound is at 24fps, so already stretched. And here is my biggest problem , if the sound is already at 24fps , the program re-strech it when i change the settings in the DCP tabs to 24fps. Resulting in unsync sound. Whats the right way to fix that? I dont want to use the 25fps stems because i trust more my engineer on streching the audio. Does changing the audio fps at Content-audio tab to 24fps will solve the problem or it will result in double restreching ?
I would love to find a way so the program will only strech the video , leaving the audio intact.

And one last fast question. The projectionist asked for 24fps DCP (the movie is at 25fps , and i hate my life for slowing it down) , that means most likely that the projector is interlop standard. Should i make the DCP interlop or , 24fps Smpte works fine in interlop projectors?

Thanks in advance ! I hope i didnt tired you.
Carsten

Re: Feature Film - Croping and sound sync

Post by Carsten »