Dcp O Matic DCP creation speed

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
nicolasbourgeois

Dcp O Matic DCP creation speed

Post by nicolasbourgeois »

Hello Everybody

I'm new to DCP o MAtic and to DCP's in general

I'm trying to create dcp from quicktimes.

It's DNX-HD 36 codec 1920x1080 24p
I add 6 mono files as L C R Ls Rs Lfe

I select Rec709 preset, set the good out put for each sound file and launch the job.

I get aprox 9fps on a W10 machine intel i7 6850k cpu.

Is it a good "score" or can I get better results.

Thanks
Nicolas
Carsten

Re: Dcp O Matic DCP creation speed

Post by Carsten »

Hi Nicolas,

that is within the expected range. Check preferences, how many threads do you have configured for J2K encoding?

https://dcpomatic.com/benchmarks/input.php?id=1

BTW - I usually recommend to NOT use separate files for audio, but to work with an interleaved multichannel file. It makes working much easier.
Of course, if everything is done correctly, the resulting DCP is exactly the same with both methods.

- Carsten
nicolasbourgeois

Post by nicolasbourgeois »

Hello

Thanks for your quick reply
12 threads (it s a 6core 12threads processor) but I can put more ? There is also another setting frame per thread set to 3 by default but I don t know what is it for.

I understand but with interlaced files sometimes you are not sure of which channel is which channel

I very tried to play this dcp on dcp o magic player, it open fine but it drop frames. Is that normal ?

Thanks
Carsten

Post by Carsten »