DCP's made with DCP-o-matic crashes Davinci Resolve 15 - RESOLVED! :)

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
xyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:53 am

DCP's made with DCP-o-matic crashes Davinci Resolve 15 - RESOLVED! :)

Post by xyzzy »

From what I can see, dcp's made with dcp-o-matic (working well in theaters and most players) can't be opened in Resolve 15 beta 1 and 2.

I've tried several dcp's, iop and smpte 24 fps, and they all crash in Resolve 15 beta 1 and 2. DCP's made with other tools seem to work ok.

Any ideas why, or what I can do to diagnose the issue?
Last edited by xyzzy on Sun May 20, 2018 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carsten
Posts: 1620
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DCP's made with DCP-o-matic crashes Davinci Resolve 15

Post by Carsten »

Hmm, I guess this is the wrong place to ask. As far as I understand so far, DCP support in Resolve 15 is no longer Fraunhofer/EasyDCP based, but it's their own code. The J2K encoder/decoder is said to be Kakadu (which is a solid J2K library). But that is only the J2K part, not MXF, Metadata, etc. So, as long as Resolve 15 is in beta, all you can do is to supply DCP-o-matic samples to BMD for debugging.


- Carsten
xyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:53 am

Re: DCP's made with DCP-o-matic crashes Davinci Resolve 15

Post by xyzzy »

Yes, 15 is in beta and still pretty buggy in a lot of ways. :)
Even loading a DoM j2c mxf makes it crash...

Would be nice if someone else could try it on their gear just to confirm the problem.
xyzzy
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:53 am

Re: DCP's made with DCP-o-matic crashes Davinci Resolve 15 - RESOLVED! :)

Post by xyzzy »

Resolve v15 beta 3 seems to have fixed this issue.

DoM DCP's can now be opened/imported and seems to work pretty well.
Post Reply