Could not create VF from an encrypted OV

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
cinema.saudia

Could not create VF from an encrypted OV

Post by cinema.saudia »

Hello everyone,

Newbie here that wants to learn how to create a VF dcp using DCP-o-matic. I'm having a problem creating a VF from an encrypted DCP.

Here's my step in creating OV DCP:
1. Create an OV DCP
2. Click the value 'Encrypted'
3. Standard: SMPTE
4. Jobs > Create DCP
5. Jobs > 'Make DKDM for DCP-o-matic'

Here's my step in creating VF file for my encrypted DCP
1. New File
2. Click 'Add DCP'
3. The encrypted DCP will ask for a KDM so I will right click it select 'Add KDM'
4. I will select the DKDM from the STEP 5 above
5. My next step should be click the 'Use this DCP's video as OV and make VF' in the Video tab and 'Use this DCP's audio as OV and make VF' in the Audio tab but my problem is that these options are disabled. Kindly see this screenshot https://ibb.co/dH8wy9
6. Add Subtitle -> I cannot proceed with this one if I cannot fix the step #5.

-- UPDATE: When I hover my mouse in the 'Use this DCP's video as OV and make VF', there's a message that says 'Cannot reference to this DCP. The video frame size in the film differs from that in the DCP'.

Thanks!
carl
Site Admin

Re: Could not create VF from an encrypted OV

Post by carl »

UPDATE: When I hover my mouse in the 'Use this DCP's video as OV and make VF', there's a message that says 'Cannot reference to this DCP. The video frame size in the film differs from that in the DCP'.
You need to set the container size in the DCP video tab to be the same as your OV (e.g. if the OV is scope, set the container to scope).
cinema.saudia

Post by cinema.saudia »

Thanks, Carl.

Should i encrypt the VF file too?
cinema.saudia

Post by cinema.saudia »

Hi again,

I successfully created the VF for my encrypted OV.