KDM for existing DCP

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: KDM for existing DCP

Post by Carsten » Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:35 am

The encrypted DCP needs to stay in the project folder if you want to create KDMs immediately with the DCP-o-matic main application - it needs to find the DCP files there. If you have not enough space to keep it there, before moving you need to create a DKDM - ideally, create a DKDM to a file (as a backup), and in a second go, save to Creator list. Afterwards, you can move/delete the DCP, then you need to create your KDMs using KDM Creator.

- Carsten
Last edited by Carsten on Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Margus Voll
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: KDM for existing DCP

Post by Margus Voll » Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:53 am

Thanks.

I will try the proper way first.

Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: KDM for existing DCP

Post by Carsten » Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:25 pm

Think about it - your DCP-o-matic main application is a full fledged DCP mastering and KDM management system. Your DCP-o-matic player app acts like a real DCI projector. It has a cert, just like a real DCI server. In order to play an encrypted feature with the player, one needs to pass it's cert to DCP-o-matic main or KDM creator (actually they use the same database) and create a cinema (YourCinema) and Screen (YourPlayer) - then you can issue KDMs for your player.

It doesn't matter wether you do this on the same machine, or between two machines. The mechanism is the same. Two machines however, will usually have two different certs (created upon first installation). Two simulate 'real' conditions, you could, of course, create DCP and KDM on your first machine, and play/export cert on your second machine ('projector'). Play with it, and you will understand the scheme and implications.

- Carsten

Margus Voll
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: KDM for existing DCP

Post by Margus Voll » Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:07 pm

Thanks.

This is also how i have understood it now. Seems clear in logic wise just need to execute it in reality now.

Margus Voll
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:18 pm

Re: KDM for existing DCP

Post by Margus Voll » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:36 am

Did the separate machine test and it worked perfectly.

Very easy and fast way to encrypt and make KDM for DCP

Thanks.

Post Reply