Ensure Correct Volume for Playback

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
jakesinn

Ensure Correct Volume for Playback

Post by jakesinn »

Hello all,

I am an advertising manager for a local cinema. I use DOM to convert all the ads to DCP. We play all our content at volume 5.2 (ads, features, trailers) - Everything. Sometimes there will be an ad that plays back WAY too loud. How do I ensure that the content will playback at 5.2 with the same level volume as everything else?

In case this matters.... setup is:

Projector: Christie Solaria One+
Cinema Sound Processor: USL Model JSD-60
Carsten

Re: Ensure Correct Volume for Playback

Post by Carsten »

After gaining some experience, you should be able to use the LUFS value of the full audio analysis with reasonable confidence.

I suggest you load some of your preshow clips into DCP-o-matic and analyse them. Compare the LUFS values - I am pretty sure that these outliers will show up with a considerable deviation of their LUFS value. Please report back your findings.

This is an easy process - create a new project 'LoudnessCheck'. Add a typical sequence of preshow DCPs to it. Make sure you have checked 'Find integrated loudness...' in General prefs, as this will perform a full audio analysis immediately when adding content. Select each CPL/DCP individually, and choose 'Show Graph of audio levels' under the 'Audio' Tab. Check the number behind 'Integrated loudness' (LUFS).
For our preshow content and typical CP setting, -17 to -20 is a typical 'good' number. -20 to -30 LUFS is softer, it get's very loud towards -15 LUFS.
This can't be ultimately precise, but, it will at least prevent gross loudness variations.

You may need to find your own suitable LUFS value, though, it depends a bit on processor, sound system, room size, personal preference, etc.