DCP repack

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
jakub.krolikowski
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:58 pm

DCP repack

Post by jakub.krolikowski »

Hi, I have a DCP with a feature film and subtitles (separate subtitles, not burnt-in).
I would like to add a short promo video (mp4), as an intro, and keep the feature DCP with subtitles with no reencoding it.

What I did: I created a new DCP project, added a promo video, added original DCP and built a new one. New DCP has no subtitles, unfortunately.
How to keep subs from original DCP?
And how to make sure DCP image and audio will not be reencoded (I would like to avoid to not to lose quality)?
When it will be reencoded?

Carsten
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DCP repack

Post by Carsten »

When you add the DCP, you still need to check 'use as' under TimedText/Captions. Otherwise, the existing subs will not be transferred to the new DCP. DCP-o-matic does not 'enable' existing subtitles automatically.

If you add a DCP, per default, the content will not be re-encoded. You will notice that during creation, the leading promo will be converted slower, because it needs to be transcoded, while the DCP part will run faster, as the frames are only copied.

- Carsten

jakub.krolikowski
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:58 pm

Re: DCP repack

Post by jakub.krolikowski »

Thank you!

Post Reply