DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
HaroldHallikainen
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm

DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by HaroldHallikainen »

I'd like to loop the playback of a DCP to do some testing. I'm not seeing an option for this in DCP Player. Did I miss it? As an alternative, is there a CLI where I can tell DCP Player to load and play the specified DCP, then shut down? I could then script a playback loop.

THANKS!!!

Harold

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by carl »

Hi Harold,

If you're using recent 2.15.x you can nearly do this with some debugging code that's in there. Make a script file with something like

Code: Select all

O /path/to/a/dcp
P
W 10000
P
W 10000
P
W 10000
P
where 10000 a number of milliseconds a little longer than your DCP. Then run the player with

Code: Select all

dcpomatic2_player -s script_filename
and it should do roughly what you want. I could add a "wait until end of DCP" command if that would help you.

O means open the given folder as a DCP.
P means start playback.
W means wait (number in milliseconds)
S means stop
K means seek (number from 0 for the DCP start to 4095 for the DCP end)

Let us know how you get on!
Carl

HaroldHallikainen
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by HaroldHallikainen »

Thanks for the QUICK reply! I suspect that will do what I want. I had to upgrade to the test version, but that does not work on my Win7 machine, I get this error message:

DCPomatic2_player.exe - Entry point not found: the procedure entry point ScriptIscomplex could not be located in the dynamic link library GDI32.dll .

this also appears if I try to run DCP Player from the start menu.

THANKS!

Harold

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by carl »

Hm, that's not good :( Thanks for letting me know, I'll look into it.

Carsten
Posts: 1600
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by Carsten »

Harold - until then, you may try one of the older test versions. Don't know though which version is needed to enable the script/debug code.

https://dcpomatic.com/test-old-downloads

- Carsten

HaroldHallikainen
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by HaroldHallikainen »

Thanks! All the 2.15 versions there cause the same error.

Harold

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by carl »

I've fixed the Windows 7 thing locally (I think) and I'll get a new version up in the next few hours.

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by carl »

2.15.66 is up now and should work again on Windows 7. Let me know if you have more problems!

HaroldHallikainen
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by HaroldHallikainen »

That worked GREAT! I added a seek before each play. Otherwise, it appears it attempts to play from the end. Here's some of my script:

O C:\DCP\Test0AFullBand_TST-1_F_71_2K_20181210_SMPTE_OV\Test0AFullBand_TST-1_F_71_2K_20181210_SMPTE_OV
P
W 195000
K 0
P
W 195000
K 0
P


Is there, perhaps, a command to exit the player? If so, I could use a batch file and do the looping there. But, this gets me going!

THANKS for the wonderful support of an amazing piece of software.

Harold

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1191
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?

Post by carl »

I just added

Code: Select all

E
to exit the player. That will be in 2.15.67 which should be up in a few hours, all being well.

Post Reply