How to load a DKDM

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
mfelicianoramos
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2021 4:06 pm

How to load a DKDM

Post by mfelicianoramos »

Hi,

Been using DCP-o-Matic for a long time but its the first time that a studio sent me a DKDM so I can generate a VF of a Encrypted DCP and also generate KDM's. I already managed to load the DKDM to the KDM generator but how I do it to make a DCP? Thanks in advance for the help.
Carsten
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by Carsten »

So, you DO see that DKMD listed in KDM Creator between 'DKDM' and the Add/Add Folder buttons?

In that case, you first need to create a target cinema and screen in order to issue KDMs for this projector. You need to ask for the serial number or decryption certificate for all projectors (aka 'Servers') that you want to create KDMs for.
mfelicianoramos
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2021 4:06 pm

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by mfelicianoramos »

Hi Carsten,

The DKDM worked fine in the KDM Generator and Im able to create the KDM's. The problem I have its for generating a VF DCP from the OV DCP they sent me.
Carsten
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by Carsten »

Can you open that OV in DCP-o-matic main? Right-Click on it, and assign DKDM. Then create your VF from it.
mfelicianoramos
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2021 4:06 pm

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by mfelicianoramos »

Thanks Carsten, it worked!
IoannisSyrogiannis
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by IoannisSyrogiannis »

I wonder if a scheme where DCP-o-matic is looking in its database for existing (D)KDMs for a particular CPL would work.
It would definitely save some time on editing and checking with the player as well.
Carsten
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by Carsten »

I think I remember a discussion about this a long time ago with Carl. I think at that time (that was even before the standalone player existed) we thought that it would be more useful if users would have to do DKDM/KDM generation and assignment manually.

Simply because that way they learn the process. If you automate this, basically from day one, users would 'somehow' generate encrypted DCPs without understanding the implications. Everything would magically work without spending a single thought about encryption and certs - but the moment the DCP leaves the machine, it is broken.
IoannisSyrogiannis
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by IoannisSyrogiannis »

Was that discussion private, or you have a link of the thread we can contribute?
I would add to that discussion that there is no much advancement on efficiency if, in favour of understanding the procedure, we deny ourselves automation.
Our experience on cinema projection, Carsten, would advocate that.
And I wouldn't put the educational role of the application (or suite, if you will) over its seamless use.
What next, having to import the DKDMs or/and the media block certificates each time one creates a KDM, so they don't 'somehow' generate KDMs without understanding the implications?

I would be all for, if Carl wrote that he doesn't have time to implement such a scheme or that he would prefer to emphatically indicate the need and presence of a (D)KDM when assigned automatically. But I am against being protected from my own ignorance instead of being motivated to educate myself and (hence) make educated decisions when using such a tool.
Carsten
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by Carsten »

It's been a long time. Probably on the mailing list, but maybe on Mantis.
IoannisSyrogiannis
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: How to load a DKDM

Post by IoannisSyrogiannis »

O.K. Thanks.
@Carl:
Please consider automating (D)KDMs availability -with some indication, maybe- on the main application and player when already inserted and available on KDM Creator.
Post Reply