Beginner's question on sound mapping

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Squareeyes

Beginner's question on sound mapping

Post by Squareeyes »

Dear all,

I am quite new to all of this, so please excuse any mistakes or confusions. I am currently trying to convert ProRes 422 HQ files into the DCP format to screen them in the cinema. The problem: The ProRes I received has 8 seperate audio streams:

Left Front
Right Front
Center
LFE
Left Surround
Right Surround
Left Total
Right Total

Now, I am a bit at a loss about how to channel those streams into the DCP - in other words: How would my sound map have to look like to sound good in the cinema? I assume, I could make a 7.1 mix with these streams, but how would this look like in DCP-O-Matic?

So you know, it's a big cineplex cinema with all the standard equipment. 5.1 and 7.1 is both possible there.

Would you have any tips, any idea where I could start with this? I'm sorry for this total beginner's question ;-)

Best,

Lena
carl
Site Admin

Re: Beginner's question on sound mapping

Post by carl »

Hi Lena,
I would guess that "Left Total" and "Right Total" are some kind of mixdown of other channels, so I don't think you need to use them. If you map

Left Front -> L
RIght Front -> R
Center -> C
LFE -> LFE
Left Surround - Ls
Right Surround - Rs

you should get a 5.1 DCP.

Best,
Carl
Squareeyes

Post by Squareeyes »

Thanks a lot!

I've attached a screenshot of the mapping I have now ... wouldn't that make it a 6.1 mix? Thanks again.

Best,
Lena
Attachments
Screenshot_DCP.PNG
Screenshot_DCP.PNG (21.25 KiB) Viewed 7554 times
carl
Site Admin

Post by carl »

That looks good... 5.1 is 6 channels (i.e. 5 + 1), the 5 channels are the full range ones and the .1 represents the LFE (sub-woofer).
Squareeyes

Post by Squareeyes »

Perfect, thanks so much for the help!
Squareeyes

Post by Squareeyes »

Hi Carl, would you mind if I ask you another question?