Creating DCP on NAS fails

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
cineko
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 3:51 pm

Creating DCP on NAS fails

Post by cineko »

We use a Synology NAS and it would be great to create new DCP's directly on that storage. Unfortunately it always fails at the end when "computing digests". So we create on a local PC and then manually copy to the NAS. Is there a solution to this?
Thanks!
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1640
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Creating DCP on NAS fails

Post by carl »

Hi,
This kind of thing has been reported a few times but I've been unable to debug it so far. If you can help, that would be great!
The first question is, could you give the exact error you get?
cineko
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 3:51 pm

Re: Creating DCP on NAS fails

Post by cineko »

Hi Carl, I'll re-create with a clip and note the exact error.
Thanks.
cineko
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 3:51 pm

Re: Creating DCP on NAS fails

Post by cineko »

Carl, at the moment DCPomatic crashes at the end of creating a new DCP on the NAS. It completes and then fails on 'computing digests' and then either closes itself or hangs. However what I didn't realise is that the DCP doesappear to have been created successfully, at least successfully enough to run on VLC
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1640
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Creating DCP on NAS fails

Post by carl »

If more or less the same thing always (or mostly) goes wrong I can send you a test version with some extra logging to try and get to the bottom of it. Let me know what you think!
Post Reply