export name as ISDCF has broken our production chain

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
glancemedia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:13 am

export name as ISDCF has broken our production chain

Post by glancemedia »

Hello.
After upgrading to v 2.15.182, I ran accross a problem with export name.
So I searched patch notes and bugs/requests in mantis, and find out 1513 and 1584. I understand that change, but for us, current way it is implemented is not usable at all. We need to use non ISDCF names that use multiple underscores. When i deselect that ISDCF name chceckbox, export name will be truncated to first underscore, and I have to manualy rewrite that export name.
Would it be possible to add option (preferences/defaults) whether i want default export name to be ISDCF or "non ISDCF => prefill with project name"?
Thanks
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: export name as ISDCF has broken our production chain

Post by carl »

What about if the code was more intelligent and only removed what looked like bits of an ISDCF name when you un-ticked that box? Would that work?
glancemedia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:13 am

Re: export name as ISDCF has broken our production chain

Post by glancemedia »

Hello.
What about if the code was more intelligent and only removed what looked like bits of an ISDCF name when you un-ticked that box?
That is only part of the problem.

When i create new project with name "project_p1_p2_p3", it will create ISDCF name for export in form "Project_ADV-1.....". Thats the real problem. So even if it could remove only ISDCF part of that export name, original name is already lost, so removing ISDCF part will still return wrong (partial/truncated) name.

That option to configure how to generate default export name (either use project name without change, or use ISDCF name generated from project name), will be much better.
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: export name as ISDCF has broken our production chain

Post by carl »

I see what you mean now. I added that option to my local copy and I'll add it to an early 2.16.x release after 2.16.0 is available.
glancemedia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:13 am

Re: export name as ISDCF has broken our production chain

Post by glancemedia »

thanks. i'll look forward to it.
Post Reply