GPU based DCP encoding

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
nimes
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:20 am

GPU based DCP encoding

Post by nimes »

Hi Carl,
Will there be GPU based encoding added in the next release? Support for CUDA based cards or AMD's or Intels OpenCL GPUs?Assimilate Scratch and EasyDCP have a feature using GPUs which really accelarates color transformation and JPEG2000 encoding.
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by carl »

I am working on it, but no promises...
johnnymagne
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:35 pm

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by johnnymagne »

Hi!
Any update on GPU-encoding?
It would greatly improve my encoding times....I´m on Mac

J
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by carl »

Not a lot as happened with that, unfortunately. It's really a question of finding the time to investigate it more.
Carsten
Posts: 1713
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by Carsten »

The question is, would it mean less effort if, at first, you restrict yourself to implementing 'just' an encode server under linux. People could put a GPU into a rather cheap base machine. The question is, how will network/GPU balance out in that scenario.

We definitely need a solution that supports cinema profiles.


Having said that - I'd love to see DOM benchmarks of an AMD Threadripper... A full machine will certainly be more costly than even a fast GPU, but it will run with the existing code. So far I haven't even seen a Ryzen in the wild.

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

- Carsten
Cantar4
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:52 pm

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by Cantar4 »

Carsten wrote: Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:17 pm A full machine will certainly be more costly than even a fast GPU, but it will run with the existing code.
here is a very interesting discussion between the main developpers of Handbrake on multi threading:
https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=36715
and another one on the minute advantages of GPU harnessing:
https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=36768
--
escapes
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:08 am

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by escapes »

Threre are few projects for CUDA accelerated J2000 encoding

apps.man.poznan.pl/trac/jpeg2k
https://github.com/uclouvain/openjpeg/wiki/GSoC2012
http://www.fastcompression.com/products ... eg2000.htm

maybe someone can let any of them work with DCP-o-matic
escapes
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:08 am

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by escapes »

Guddu
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:49 am

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by Guddu »

Carsten wrote: Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:17 pm The question is, would it mean less effort if, at first, you restrict yourself to implementing 'just' an encode server under linux. People could put a GPU into a rather cheap base machine. The question is, how will network/GPU balance out in that scenario.

We definitely need a solution that supports cinema profiles.


Having said that - I'd love to see DOM benchmarks of an AMD Threadripper... A full machine will certainly be more costly than even a fast GPU, but it will run with the existing code. So far I haven't even seen a Ryzen in the wild.

https://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

- Carsten
I am on Ryzen 1700X... if you need me to run a test please let me know.

My build is as follows

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Guddu/saved/#view=Np4BP6
Carsten
Posts: 1713
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: GPU based DCP encoding

Post by Carsten »

Hi Guddu - we have a Ryzen 1700 benchmark here - it's impressing for a single CPU machine...

https://dcpomatic.com/benchmarks/input.php?id=1

- Carsten
Post Reply