Best Davinci export and Color Conversion setting question

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
cineasta

Best Davinci export and Color Conversion setting question

Post by cineasta »

Hello,

I'm a real newbie to making DCP's and have some settings questions. I shot a documentary on Panasonic GH2 1920 x 1080, edited on Final Cut 7 and just finished the color grading on Davinci Resolve. So I have 2 questions:

1. What's the best and simplest export setting to go out from Davinci and into DCP-o-Matic? I was thinking to just stay with Quicktime ProResHQ 422 1920x1080 with a conversion to 24 FPS and also include the 6 tracks of audio to convert to the 24FPS timespace. But maybe I should scale to 1980 Quicktime x 1080? or use TIFF's?

2. When I get into DCP-o-matic should I set the color conversion to Rec. 709 or sRGB or something else. I know that Panasonic is Rec 709 but since we are working in a Davinci Resolve studio with a calibrated screen I wasn't sure...

Thanks so much in advance for your help!
Carsten

Re: Best Davinci export and Color Conversion setting question

Post by Carsten »

Export to Prores 1920/1080 24fps with rec.709 would be my suggestion. Use rec.709 conversion preset in DCP-o-matic.
You can do a 25/24 conversion in DCP-o-matic as well, if your source footage is 25fps. If this Resolve export is your only master file, stay within the original frame rate, and create 24fps only for the DCP. As a matter of fact, you could just as well create the DCP with 25fps. There are just a few servers out there without 25fps capability. Some folks I helped created both a 24 and 25 fps version, some did not care about the slowdown and created only the 24fps version.

When you pass your footage through FCP and Resolve, your capture colorspace is not necessarily your backend colorspace - on the way, it could have been shifted into other colorspaces. But in general, stay within your capture color space throughout the post process.