SMPTE bitmapped subs on GDC SX 2000

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

SMPTE bitmapped subs on GDC SX 2000

Post by carl » Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:32 pm

Hi all,

Does anybody have experience of running DCPs with SMPTE PNG subtitles on a GDC SX 2000?

Does it work?

Thanks!
Carl

Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: SMPTE bitmapped subs on GDC SX 2000

Post by Carsten » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:21 am

No GDCs in germany, I'm afraid. Quite a few of the regulars over at film-tech operate GDCs, though. Maybe you could set up a simple small test DCP for them to download?

- Carsten

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: SMPTE bitmapped subs on GDC SX 2000

Post by carl » Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:08 am

I'll ask over there. It's more the case that DoM SMPTE bitmap DCPs don't seem to work, and I wondered if any do.

Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: SMPTE bitmapped subs on GDC SX 2000

Post by Carsten » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:28 pm

I guess most will not be able to find out easily if the DCPs they play are timed text or PNG. I think I never saw a PNG test DCP.

I know there are issues with DCP and PNG resolution (2k vs. 4k) between Interop and SMPTE.

I also know that it is/was common in switzerland to have dual-language subtitled DCPs, and often they use(d) PNGs. Don't know their current habit's. In many countries, SMPTE DCPs are still rare, and then with PNGs...

Yup - the SX2000 is pretty old, and if SMPTE compatible at all, they may have skipped the PNG test.
Ooops, 2012 appears old to me now, but our Sony has been installed in early 2013...

- Carsten
Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-11 um 22.37.03.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-11 um 22.37.03.png (58.81 KiB) Viewed 639 times

Post Reply