Error: Could Not Open ...

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Post Reply
DaveM
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:16 pm

Error: Could Not Open ...

Post by DaveM »

Hi
I'm running DCP-O-Matic V2.14.10 git 3c7d19089d on windows 10.
Apologies if this is an ignorant question, but I'm new.

I'm trying to convert an .MP4 to DCP and it fails with the following error:

Could Not Open File
c:\...\filename

It is not known what caused this error. Please report the problem..

I have used the report-a-problem link, but wondered if I might find the answer on this board.

Dave

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Error: Could Not Open ...

Post by carl »

It sounds like you need to create a project first. Do File -> New, then click the "Add file" button to add your MP4. Let us know if you have problems.

DaveM
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: Error: Could Not Open ...

Post by DaveM »

Hi Carl

Did that. Created a project. Added a file. 2 seconds in, boom, error.

Tried doing it in batch. Things ran for 5 minutes then boom, errored again with the same problem.

Regards - Dave

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Error: Could Not Open ...

Post by carl »

Hi Dave,

Thanks. I just found your problem report that you sent from DCP-o-matic. Sorry about that. I sent you an email to get some more information, but the forum is probably a better place to talk about it.

Does it happen every time?

Do you have anything "unusual" like your project folder in a OneDrive / DropBox or anything? Or is your project just in a normal place on a hard drive?

Post Reply