DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
perlator82
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:03 pm

DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by perlator82 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:49 pm

Hi.
I have one fast question.
I get original DCP and also a suplement with english subtitles.
I must add polish subtitles and both of them (eng + pl) must be visible during screenig.
I now the normal procedure, but not this one with suplement.
What should I do in few steps?
Thanks!

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by carl » Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:59 pm

I'm not sure if this will work, but I would try:
  • Add original DCP and supplement to a new project.
  • Tick "refer" for the video and audio
  • Add your Polish subtitles and move the two subtitle files around vertically so you can see them both.
  • Make DCP and you should get a VF with just your English and Polish subtitles merged into one file.

perlator82
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:03 pm

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by perlator82 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:48 pm

Thanks!
One more. Different thing.
After importing a dcp i get longer video than it should be.
Because of imported two .srt files with both languges (eng + pl).
Why?
Because i get error importing english sub suplement.
Is there any solution?

carl
Site Admin
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by carl » Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:59 pm

It's probably because DCP-o-matic has guessed (wrongly) that your subtitles should come one after the other rather than being overlaid.

Open the timeline and drag your subtitles to that one is under the other. Then it should be OK.

Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by Carsten » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:07 am

Look for screenshots here:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1375#p5748

Note that if your subtitles spot show times are longer than the actual feature, e.g. the video going to 1h14m12s6f and (for what reason ever) your last subtitle ends at 1h14m18s3f, then DCP-o-matic will add black in order to show the final subtitle completely, which also results in a 'longer' video/runtime than your video content.

- Carsten

perlator82
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:03 pm

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by perlator82 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:44 pm

Thank you!
I get original dcp, but audio is longer than video.
2 sec differance.
I must add subs but video is out of sync!

Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by Carsten » Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:15 pm

Save your project and upload the metadata file here. We may have a look.

- Carsten

perlator82
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:03 pm

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by perlator82 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:36 pm

Attached.
Attachments
metadata.xml
(8.23 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

Carsten
Posts: 1397
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by Carsten » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:58 pm

Okay - as far as I followed this thread, first thing I notice is that you did not add an actual DCP, but the individual MXF files from the OV - video.mxf and audio.mxf. Depending on where the source comes from, this may not work out, because these files may need different entry and exit points defined in the CPL. These are only considered properly when importing the source as DCP. So, remove these MXF files, and use the button 'Add DCP', then point to the DCP folder.

- Carsten

perlator82
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 4:03 pm

Re: DCP + english sub suplement + second language sub

Post by perlator82 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:37 am

Hi.
The problem is the package.
The filmmaker who made it, said that it's correct one.
I'm not sure with that.
I attached 2 screenshots.
First one is what I get in the folder and second one is an error from DoM.
Please help.

Cheers!
Attachments
ScreenHunter 01.png
ScreenHunter 01.png (51.4 KiB) Viewed 135 times
ScreenHunter 02.png
ScreenHunter 02.png (3.03 KiB) Viewed 135 times

Post Reply