24bit WAV file exceeds 4GB and won't save

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Jude

24bit WAV file exceeds 4GB and won't save

Post by Jude »

I am trying to create an audio master for the DCP version of a film that is two and a half hours long. The mix is stereo, but because the audio needs to be 24bit (48k) the file sides exceeds the 4GB max allowed for a stereo WAV file. I'm new to DCP-O-Matic and this is the first time I've tried to create a DCP for such a long film. Obviously others must have come up against this issue before me, so if anyone has a suggestion for a workaround I would be very grateful to hear it!
Many thanks.
carl
Site Admin

Re: 24bit WAV file exceeds 4GB and won't save

Post by carl »

Hi, the easiest thing is probably to split it into two parts and add them both to the DoM project one after the other. There should be no audible join so long as you are not asking DCP-o-matic to do any sample-rate conversion (i.e. if you're importing at 48kHz and the video frame rate is not being changed by DCP-o-matic).

Alternatively if you are mixing in 16-bit you could just import a 16-bit WAV and DCP-o-matic will convert to 24-bit for you.
Carsten

Post by Carsten »

What applications do you use to create that audio master?

Standard WAV is always limited to 4GB in size, no matter if the filesystem supports larger files. Check wether your application supports other file types, Broadcast Wave, or Wave with RF64 extension.

BTW - a stereo file at 24Bit/48KHz computes to about 1GB per hour, so, 2-1/2 hrs should fit nicely into the 4GB limit. It becomes more of a problem with discrete multichannel files.
Jude

Post by Jude »

Am using Soundforge, and not sure why but you're right, its actually reporting the filesize in the software as just under 3GB but it still won't save.