Coding is very slow

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 2387
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by carl »

Thanks for the logs. I can't see anything obviously wrong there. It would be interesting if you could send another log after ticking the "Timing" checkbox under "Log" in the advanced preferences. This will fill the log with some more information related to the frame queues.
bnm14777
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:12 am

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by bnm14777 »

carl wrote: Mon Mar 27, 2023 9:33 pm Thanks for the logs. I can't see anything obviously wrong there. It would be interesting if you could send another log after ticking the "Timing" checkbox under "Log" in the advanced preferences. This will fill the log with some more information related to the frame queues.
It's probably not a DOM problem. I found that other video editing software also has the same issue. Before this problem occurred, I upgraded the BIOS of my computer and reinstalled the system. It may be related to the system or a protective mechanism that was activated after reinstalling the system. Thank you for the helpful answers from Carl and Carsten.
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 2387
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by carl »

Thanks for reporting back!
Carsten
Posts: 2674
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by Carsten »

When I bought my 'second' second-hand HP Z600 dual xeon system, I installed the OS from scratch and looked up HPs website for current drivers. I was surprised to find a very recent BIOS update. So, I installed it. Very quickly I learned that this update was targeted at the spectre vulnerability of these XEON XC56xx processors. When I compared DCP-o-matic encoding performance with my 'first' second hand Z600 which did not have that BIOS version installed, I immediately noticed that this BIOS update caused a severe slowdown while encoding. Luckily, I was able to find a way to downgrade the BIOS to the latest version before the SPECTRE patch, and encoding speed was back to normal. I only use this system for DCP-o-matic, RIPs, etc., so I never bothered about SPECTRE.
bnm14777
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:12 am

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by bnm14777 »

Carsten wrote: Wed Mar 29, 2023 10:42 pm When I bought my 'second' second-hand HP Z600 dual xeon system, I installed the OS from scratch and looked up HPs website for current drivers. I was surprised to find a very recent BIOS update. So, I installed it. Very quickly I learned that this update was targeted at the spectre vulnerability of these XEON XC56xx processors. When I compared DCP-o-matic encoding performance with my 'first' second hand Z600 which did not have that BIOS version installed, I immediately noticed that this BIOS update caused a severe slowdown while encoding. Luckily, I was able to find a way to downgrade the BIOS to the latest version before the SPECTRE patch, and encoding speed was back to normal. I only use this system for DCP-o-matic, RIPs, etc., so I never bothered about SPECTRE.
Yes but unfortunately I am using a MAC Pro 2012 5.1 and upgraded boot rom Unfortunately so far there is no way to find a way to degrade it and it feels like the computer has lost its value
SunSea
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2023 5:59 am

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by SunSea »

I have some news for you. It is looks like disk write cache Improve CPU efficiency and coding speed.

Test 1. input file from SSD1, output file SSD2, CPU 100%, 16fps.
Test 2. input file from HD no cache, output file SSD2, CPU 100%, 16fps.
Test 3. input file from SSD1, output file HD no cache, CPU 30-40%, 5fps.
Test 4. input file from SSD1, output file HD write cache, CPU 80%, 10 fps.

I think DOM need a output cache Built in the program. There is no suitable cache in windows 10 system.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
My system is windows 10 21H2
laptop Dell Inspiron 16 Plus (7610) i7 11800H 32G RAM
SSD1: PCIe3.0 1T Built-in
SSD2: PCIE4.0 1T Built-in
HD: USB3.0 WD My Passport 2T
Last edited by SunSea on Sun Oct 01, 2023 2:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 2387
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by carl »

What operating system is this on, and how are you setting up the cache?
Carsten
Posts: 2674
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by Carsten »

Sure windows 10 has a drive cache system (and the drive itself has a cache as well). Are these encoding times including the final hash run? Hashing is MUCH faster on SSDs. Is the HDD internal SATA, or external (USB3.0)?
RAY-NUE
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 4:18 am
Location: Ratchaburi, Thailand
Contact:

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by RAY-NUE »

bnm14777 wrote: Wed Mar 22, 2023 4:31 pm I used to create a MOV high-definition file with a bit rate of 3840X2160 and 900M. Creating a 4KDCP file (of course, the same problem existed with creating a 2KDCP file before) can be very slow, and it takes about 30 hours to complete,

The system version is windows10 X64

DOM uses the version 2.14.59 And 2.16.46、2.16.47

Hardware for MAC Pro 2012
DCP Intel X5680 3.33GHz x 24 cores
Memory 64G
Graphics card AMD RX590

During the transcoding process, the CPU usage will not exceed 80% at its highest, but it is unstable and often stays around 20%.


Is there something wrong with this?
I would like to recommend that you render the mov as jpeg2000 with DaVinci Resolve before importing it into DOM to do DCP.
Attachments
j2.jpg
j2.jpg (47.95 KiB) Viewed 935 times
SunSea
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2023 5:59 am

Re: Coding is very slow

Post by SunSea »

carl wrote: Sat Sep 30, 2023 11:04 am What operating system is this on, and how are you setting up the cache?
My system is windows 10 21H2
laptop Dell Inspiron 16 Plus (7610) i7 11800H 32G RAM
SSD1: PCIe3.0 1T Built-in
SSD2: PCIE4.0 1T Built-in
HD: USB3.0 WD My Passport 2T

Test 5. input file from SSD1, output file HD no cache, CPU 58%, Disk 49%, Disk output speed 500K-7M/s, 5fps.
Test 6. input file from SSD1, output file HD write cache, CPU 80%, Disk 15%, Disk output speed 13M/s, 9fps.
Attachments
HD usb3.0 no cache.png
HD usb3.0 no cache.png (205.18 KiB) Viewed 923 times
HD usb3.0 yes cache.png
HD usb3.0 yes cache.png (461.72 KiB) Viewed 923 times
Post Reply