How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Artemius9559
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2023 12:59 pm

How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by Artemius9559 »

Hi everybody!
I have a question about KDM CLI, pleas help me!
When im make keys for solo cinema it ok, but my projects starts at 100 cinemas...
How can i make batch kdm's in cli?
it is desirable that it be possible to do for the entire xml file and ability to select xml file in cli
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by carl »

Hi,

So you have an XML file containing your cinema list? Do you mean the one that DCP-o-matic makes?
Artemius9559
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2023 12:59 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by Artemius9559 »

Yes, i talking about xml which makes dcp o matic
i make base in dcp-o-matic, you made a pretty handy tool for this!
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by carl »

I see. I wonder what the best way to do this is. I guess we could add an option to the KDM CLI tool to make KDMs for all cinemas in the list, but this does seem like a slightly unusual use-case.

I guess as the code is now you can nearly do

Code: Select all

while IFS=- read -r line; do dcpomatic2_kdm_cli -c "$cinema" --valid-from now --valid-duration "1 week" ~/Test_FTR-1_F-133_XX-XX_MOS_2K_20230616_SMPTE_OV_DKDM.xml; done <<< $(dcpomatic2_kdm_cli --list-cinemas
in bash - it just needs some tweaks to the --list-cinemas output. Would that work for you?
Carsten
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by Carsten »

Maybe also add an option to use a separate cinemas.xml file?
Artemius9559
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2023 12:59 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by Artemius9559 »

I work on Windows, and I have to say that I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to the command line.
Yeah, Carsten right
If possible, could you add something like "-x" that would allow me to specify the path to an XML file with an automatic selection of all the theaters in the list?
Thank you anyway!
Last edited by Artemius9559 on Fri Jun 16, 2023 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Artemius9559
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2023 12:59 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by Artemius9559 »

Hey guys, I understand that this might be a bit audacious of me, but I'm wondering if there will be any advancements on this topic, or if I should start exploring other avenues?
RAY-NUE
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2023 4:18 am
Location: Ratchaburi, Thailand

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by RAY-NUE »

You must have a certificate of every screen to release KDM 1 screen per 1 KDM file only because KDM is not compatible with other screens.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Artemius9559
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2023 12:59 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by Artemius9559 »

RAY-NUE, im know
I need to select all the theaters in the list at once in the Windows KDM CLI
Take a look at the conversation above)
carl
Site Admin
Posts: 2362
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How can i make KDM's from cli for all cinemas in xml file?

Post by carl »

I added a --cinemas-file option to the KDM CLI tool in my local copy, and it will be in the next release. Hopefully that will do what you need!