Sync Issues from 23.976 FPS Pro Res

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
YazTB

Sync Issues from 23.976 FPS Pro Res

Post by YazTB »

Hi,

I'm new to DCP-O-Matic. It's an amazing program, super intuitive and feels like the lifesaver to the low budget indie filmmaker for a festival run!

I'm am however having a huge sync issue when creating a DCP from a 23.976 Pro Res file. The playback in DCP-o-matic isn't in sync when I click through the file. I have tried importing several different files and the playback sync is always off.

I went ahead and set the markers and created the DCP. I selected 24 fps under DCP and the audio seems to be ahead of the video. Did I miss something? All help greatly appreciated.
carl
Site Admin

Re: Sync Issues from 23.976 FPS Pro Res

Post by carl »

Hello,

That is strange. As a first step, can you attach the "metadata.xml" and "ffprobe.log" files from inside your DCP-o-matic project directory. Then we can look at the settings you have used, and what DCP-o-matic found out about your video file. You can also send them to carl@dcpomatic.com if you'd rather.

Does the sync stay wrong by the same amount, or does it get worse as the film goes on?
IoannisSyrogiannis

Post by IoannisSyrogiannis »

Carl will definitely give you more info on the matter.
Yet, keep in mind that the problem may lie on the computer's ability to play the video out.
Different resolution, audio configuration, bandwidth, file source of the ProRes may play their part.
YazTB

Post by YazTB »

Hey Carl & IoannisSyrogiannis thank you both for replying so quickly.