Automatic audio mapping not working

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
MUTEmaker

Automatic audio mapping not working

Post by MUTEmaker »

Hi there – I am fairly new to DCP-o-Matic. I have a Quicktime ProRes with 5.1 audio and when I put it into DCP-o-Matic the automatic audio mapping didn't work. Instead of seeing six green boxes I only see one – the Centre box on channel 1. All the other tracks are empty. I can't see what's wrong with the video. The only thing that is weird is that when I open the inspector on Quicktime it lists the audio channels "Track id" starting with "3" not "1". In fact 1 and 2 are not there. It just goes from 3 to 8. Could this be the problem?
Many thanks!
Carsten

Re: Automatic audio mapping not working

Post by Carsten »

Can you make a short file available with exact same track properties? audio can be silent and image black.

In Quicktime, there is a difference between multiple streams and multiple tracks. A single stream may have multiple tracks (e.g. 6 for a 5.1 mix), and usually DCP-o-matic maps them automatically.
If the multichannel audio is stored as multiple single-track streams, DCP-o-matic may assign every individual stream/track to the center channel, that is the default. I understand some editing software allows to configure both file formats, but some don't.
MUTEmaker

Post by MUTEmaker »

Thanks for getting back to me. I think this is exactly what has happened. I think the master ProRes has multiple single track streams and DCP-o-Matic has assigned them all to the centre.

I did a test using the stereo version of the film and when I load it in to DCP-o-Matic the audio mapping seems fine. But when I load in an alternative stereo version that is exported with separate "dual mono" tracks then the same automatic centring occurs on the DCP-o-Matic audio mapping.