I'd like to loop the playback of a DCP to do some testing. I'm not seeing an option for this in DCP Player. Did I miss it? As an alternative, is there a CLI where I can tell DCP Player to load and play the specified DCP, then shut down? I could then script a playback loop.
THANKS!!!
Harold
DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
Hi Harold,
If you're using recent 2.15.x you can nearly do this with some debugging code that's in there. Make a script file with something like
where 10000 a number of milliseconds a little longer than your DCP. Then run the player with
and it should do roughly what you want. I could add a "wait until end of DCP" command if that would help you.
O means open the given folder as a DCP.
P means start playback.
W means wait (number in milliseconds)
S means stop
K means seek (number from 0 for the DCP start to 4095 for the DCP end)
Let us know how you get on!
Carl
If you're using recent 2.15.x you can nearly do this with some debugging code that's in there. Make a script file with something like
Code: Select all
O /path/to/a/dcp
P
W 10000
P
W 10000
P
W 10000
P
Code: Select all
dcpomatic2_player -s script_filename
O means open the given folder as a DCP.
P means start playback.
W means wait (number in milliseconds)
S means stop
K means seek (number from 0 for the DCP start to 4095 for the DCP end)
Let us know how you get on!
Carl
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
Thanks for the QUICK reply! I suspect that will do what I want. I had to upgrade to the test version, but that does not work on my Win7 machine, I get this error message:
DCPomatic2_player.exe - Entry point not found: the procedure entry point ScriptIscomplex could not be located in the dynamic link library GDI32.dll .
this also appears if I try to run DCP Player from the start menu.
THANKS!
Harold
DCPomatic2_player.exe - Entry point not found: the procedure entry point ScriptIscomplex could not be located in the dynamic link library GDI32.dll .
this also appears if I try to run DCP Player from the start menu.
THANKS!
Harold
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
Hm, that's not good Thanks for letting me know, I'll look into it.
-
- Posts: 2804
- Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:11 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
Harold - until then, you may try one of the older test versions. Don't know though which version is needed to enable the script/debug code.
https://dcpomatic.com/test-old-downloads
- Carsten
https://dcpomatic.com/test-old-downloads
- Carsten
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
Thanks! All the 2.15 versions there cause the same error.
Harold
Harold
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
I've fixed the Windows 7 thing locally (I think) and I'll get a new version up in the next few hours.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
2.15.66 is up now and should work again on Windows 7. Let me know if you have more problems!
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:54 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
That worked GREAT! I added a seek before each play. Otherwise, it appears it attempts to play from the end. Here's some of my script:
O C:\DCP\Test0AFullBand_TST-1_F_71_2K_20181210_SMPTE_OV\Test0AFullBand_TST-1_F_71_2K_20181210_SMPTE_OV
P
W 195000
K 0
P
W 195000
K 0
P
Is there, perhaps, a command to exit the player? If so, I could use a batch file and do the looping there. But, this gets me going!
THANKS for the wonderful support of an amazing piece of software.
Harold
O C:\DCP\Test0AFullBand_TST-1_F_71_2K_20181210_SMPTE_OV\Test0AFullBand_TST-1_F_71_2K_20181210_SMPTE_OV
P
W 195000
K 0
P
W 195000
K 0
P
Is there, perhaps, a command to exit the player? If so, I could use a batch file and do the looping there. But, this gets me going!
THANKS for the wonderful support of an amazing piece of software.
Harold
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: DCP Player loop playback or command line interface?
I just added
to exit the player. That will be in 2.15.67 which should be up in a few hours, all being well.
Code: Select all
E