Theater can't play DCP file

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
pangiaxiong

Theater can't play DCP file

Post by pangiaxiong »

Hello

I really need help ASAP. I'm planning to show this 24 sec screening ad in a theater but they kept on saying that it's not in a DCP file which I'm just totally lost.

First I used Adobe Premiere to export it to DCP and it was all put inside a DCP folder. However it separated the audio and video which I found by searching that it's normal for DCP format. Mind you this is my first time creating a DCP too. I uploaded the folder to my google drive and sent the link to the theater but they said the video doesn't have audio. I told them it's was exported separately and even ask that they make sure they download everything in that folder.

They came back and recommended me to use DCP o matic because they're now saying it's not DCP file, which I'm more confused. However I converted it again in DCP o matic and it still came out as separating the audio and video. So really I'm at a lost because I don't understand why they said it's not DCP when I already exported out as DCP. I'm always trying to understand how the theater would play a DCP so maybe I can understand why they're having an issue.

Can anyone help me? The 15th is the day I need to have this in by. Thanks
carl
Site Admin

Re: Theater can't play DCP file

Post by carl »

Perhaps you can show us what you have put in Google Drive.
Kewl

Post by Kewl »

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Carsten

Post by Carsten »

If you uploaded a DCP to a Google drive and they downloaded it, chances are that they ended up with the DCP in a ZIP file. Maybe they don't understand that.