Sound Problems - Making my first DCP

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
Mads T

Sound Problems - Making my first DCP

Post by Mads T »

Hi,

I am very new at this so please go easy on me, if this is to much of a noob question.

I´m trying to make a dcp from a Danish blu-ray, but when I´m finished with converting into dcp and playing the movie in the Cinema the problem starts.

I´m using the program "Anymp4 Bluray ripper" for ripping the movie to mkv format, and selecting audio 6channel DTS.

When playing the movie in the cinema, it seems like only the front speakers are playing. The dcp file it is stating 6channel audio. I´m using standart settings in DCP O Matic so I this that might be the problem. Is the sound to low on the other speakers?

Hope someone is able to help
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
carl
Site Admin

Re: Sound Problems - Making my first DCP

Post by carl »

That graph looks like it should work... can you see the sound processor in the cinema when the DCP Is playing? If so, is there any signal on the non L/R channels?
Mads T

Post by Mads T »

Hi,

I Can se the bars on the equipment mobning a bit but no Sound.. :-)

/Mads
Eriksson

Post by Eriksson »

Good morning Mads.
Just an advice (not really related to your problem): you should lower the audio gain a bit. Use the 'Gain' tab (left in your screenshot). One useful indicator is when the text 'Peak xx.x dB' changes color from red to black.
This is to avoid clipping/cracking/pooping in the cinema sound processor when playing loud passages in the film.
Have you tried playng a channel ID test in the auditorium (left channel, center channel...)?
/M.E.
Mads T

Post by Mads T »

Hi,

When playing any other DCP (Made by pros), our sound system is working like a charm. So I know that I´m doing something wrong... But dont know what?
Carsten

Post by Carsten »