Crash on Mac OS X

Anything and everything to do with DCP-o-matic.
mhuxley

Crash on Mac OS X

Post by mhuxley »

Hey DCP-o-matic users,

I'm trying to use the software for the first time on a 2.7 GHz 12 Core Intel Xeon E5 Mac Pro Desktop (OSX 10.9.5)
I am using what I believe is the most recent version of the software.

I'm ingesting a 2K 2mn quicktime file with stereo audio tracks. The process goes as planned until the DCP creation process reaches it's end and then the software just crashes. This is my first time using the software and I have a screening in a few days so I am hoping anyone in the forums here can make suggestions. As easy as this process is I'm wondering if the files have to first be set up a certain way as in Open Dcp? I've used Open DCP with some success in the past but am struggling to get this two minute DCP made regardless of system. Also when my DCP's are made following the more complex steps in Open DCP, my final sound and Image MXF's always come out as files (file icon representing document type) instead of the orange cone icon I see on correctly mastered DCP's! Thanks All
carl
Site Admin

Re: Crash on Mac OS X

Post by carl »

The process goes as planned until the DCP creation process reaches it's end and then the software just crashes
There are some known crash bugs in DCP-o-matic 2.9.0 on OS X. Please try the test version from here and let us know how that goes.
lso when my DCP's are made following the more complex steps in Open DCP, my final sound and Image MXF's always come out as files (file icon representing document type) instead of the orange cone icon I see on correctly mastered DCP's!
What extensions do these files have?
jbpribanic

Post by jbpribanic »

Switching to the other version fixed the problem for us and stopped the crashes we had with OS X.

update (11/03/16): attempted to use the new DCP at a theater and the projector would not ingest the file...trying to create a new file now.